Welcome to the Stratoliner Deluxe Motorcycle Forum

Why join our motorcycle community?

  • Membership is free and easy
  • Get technical support for your Stratoliner motorcycle or search for information before buying
  • Use the member map to find riders near you
  • Participate in our monthly virtual bike show (or at least vote)
  • Get rid of these annoying boxes asking you to regsiter  ;D

More importantly, make new friends!!  This forum has some of the most friendly and sincere people you will ever meet!!

Author Topic: Adding additional speakers?  (Read 724 times)

Nightlites

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • *
  • Posts: 126
  • Referrals: 0
Adding additional speakers?
« on: May 30, 2017, 12:24:03 PM »
I am looking to add two more speakers to my stock Yamaha system.  Is this something I can easily do by just tapping into the existing speaker wires?  I have the feeling it can't be that simple.  I would like to keep the functionality of the volume control and being able to switch from Ipod to Garmin, but again I don't know if I can.  For you guys who have added speakers, I would appreciate learning from your experience.




Grumpy

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • *
  • *
  • *
  • *
  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 5809
  • Four wheels move the body,Two wheels move the soul
  • Referrals: 2
    • Moto Travels
Re: Adding additional speakers?
« Reply #1 on: May 30, 2017, 07:15:11 PM »
The short answer is no, you can't, or at least you won't be happy with it.

You need an amp. Alpine has a small amp that works pretty well it's a KTP-45u or something like that. You'll need to upgrade the stock speakers too as they are under powered.
_______________________________________
-Grumpy
I'm not totally useless.  I can be used as a bad example.

tigrzeye

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • *
  • Posts: 586
  • Referrals: 0
Re: Adding additional speakers?
« Reply #2 on: May 31, 2017, 06:34:57 AM »
You will need a 4 channel amp to power 4 speakers. To keep the stock volume control, GPS, and iPod use/control you would need the new amp to have a high power input. This means the speaker wires from the current stock Yamaha amp would run into the new amp via high power input. Then wiring to the new 4 speakers would go from the new amp to speakers. I did this originally before completely gutting the stock music system completely. Still have GPS run into new head unit via aux input and original 3.5mm cable from the GPS, but all other OEM stuff like amp and volume controls on the handlebars are gone.

Nightlites

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • *
  • Posts: 126
  • Referrals: 0
Re: Adding additional speakers?
« Reply #3 on: June 01, 2017, 11:53:17 AM »
thanks for the comments and suggestions.

Chappy

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 128
  • Referrals: 0
Re: Adding additional speakers?
« Reply #4 on: June 14, 2017, 07:15:33 PM »
I've got the alpine amp with Pyle speakers. Honestly not thrilled. There's just nothing after 65 mph. I listen to mp3s mostly and radio has a little better volume, but I wish I had gone with even more power In The amp.
Jon Chapman
Seminole, Fl

denman

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 34
  • Referrals: 0
Re: Adding additional speakers?
« Reply #5 on: June 14, 2017, 10:59:56 PM »
i installed the alpine amp using a thread i found on this site and found 2 speakers was plenty.  not the greatest but really good enough

Nightlites

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • *
  • Posts: 126
  • Referrals: 0
Re: Adding additional speakers?
« Reply #6 on: June 18, 2017, 08:40:58 AM »
The only reason I am adding speakers is my JPD lower storage boxes got destroyed in a fire at an upholstery shop. Couldn't find any replacements so I made speaker boxes. I just thought I might as well hook them up correctly.

denman

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 34
  • Referrals: 0
Re: Adding additional speakers?
« Reply #7 on: June 18, 2017, 11:45:35 PM »
The only reason I am adding speakers is my JPD lower storage boxes got destroyed in a fire at an upholstery shop. Couldn't find any replacements so I made speaker boxes. I just thought I might as well hook them up correctly.

the alpine amp will do the trick. i think there's a kenwood one too.  search the site for amp install and you'll find a really good thread with complete instructions